When creating or editing a dashboard, you can select the default filters for your dashboard. So when you or your team view the dashboard, default filters are already applied.
To do this, select the [Dashboard Actions] dropdown and then select [Customise Default Filters].
You will then have the ability to select the default filters for your dashboard.
When you or your team view the dashboard, it will appear in accordance with pre-selected filters. The filters can be changed by whoever is viewing the dashboard, but this will not overwrite the default filters.
If the filters have been changed on the dashboard whilst viewing (but not through the Dashboard Actions by the creator), the filters will then revert back to the default filters once the dashboard is closed.
You can choose to not select default filters for your dashboard, which means when you or your team view the dashboard, filters can be manually applied. These filters won't be saved as default.
Depending on the Dashboard Widgets you have selected, you can select the default filters for:
- S&E Types
Only the person who created the dashboard can define the default filters. This is done during the creation of the dashboard, or while editing the dashboard.
Duplicating a Dashboard
If you find a dashboard that you like and want to apply default filters to, you can duplicate the dashboard and apply the default filters you need.